This Web site was designed using Web standards.
Learn more about the benefits of standardized design.

Quick Links

E-mail Article

Awards Information


Ajax Loading Image


Story image 1_0

Huff Named Finalist in National Superintendent of Year Contest

September 29, 2012

Dr. C.J. Huff, Superintendent of the Joplin School District has been named a finalist in the American Association of School Administrators' 2013 National Superintendent of the Year program. Huff was named the Missouri Superintendent of the Year in October and as such advanced to the national competition.  The national program is in its 26th year and honors the leadership and exceptional contributions to education of public school superintendents. AASA will announce the 2013 National Superintendent of the Year on February 21, 2013, at the National Conference on Education in Los Angeles, Calif.

The other three finalists are:
• Wanda Cook-Robinson, superintendent, Southfield Public Schools, Southfield, Mich.
• Mark Edwards, superintendent, Mooresville Graded School District, Mooresville, N.C.
• Maryalice Russell, superintendent, McMinnville School District, McMinnville, Or.

"AASA is honored to present these four outstanding superintendents," said AASA Executive Director Daniel A. Domenech, in announcing their names. "They represent the best in school system leadership today. They and their colleagues are at work daily, transforming schools to meet 21st century standards and to provide quality education for all students."

The four national finalists were chosen from 49 State Superintendent of the Year finalists. The finalists will be at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., on Jan. 8, 2013, where they will participate in a panel discussion moderated by Rich Bagin, Executive Director of the National School Public Relations Association. Also, the finalists will be interviewed by a national blue-ribbon selection panel of educators, businesspeople and government officials. 

A $10,000 college scholarship will be presented in the name of the National Superintendent of the Year to a student in the high school from which the superintendent graduated, or the school now serving the same area.

The National Superintendent of the Year will receive a jacket emblazoned with the National Superintendent of the Year emblem.

The last superintendent to be named a finalist in the National Superintendent of the Year contest was D. Kent King in 1995 who was then superintendent of the Rolla School District at the time.

Sign up for the News Update.

Back To Top