Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Missouri Association of School Administrators

Resources, News & Publications


Ajax Loading Image


Stephen Green Receives Pearce Award

Dr. R. Stephen Green has been selected by the Missouri Association of School Administrators (MASA) as the recipient of the annual Robert L. Pearce Award for 2015.  Green was selected by a committee of his peers.  Eight MASA districts nominated a superintendent for the award.

The Pearce Award includes a $500 cash award to the recipient and a $500 scholarship for a student in the district of the award winner.

Green has been employed by the Kansas City Public Schools as Superintendent of Schools since July, 2011.  He previously served as the President and CEO, Kauffman Scholars, Inc. from 2005 to 2011.  He served as Superintendent, NYC Board of Education CSD 28 from 2003 to 2005.  He also served the Metro School District of Lawrence Township from 1987 to 1995, first as a principal and then as an assistant superintendent.

The Kansas City Public Schools serve about 14,600 students and includes 26 elementary schools, two middle schools and nine secondary buildings. The student population includes a wide range of races and ethnicities with more than 40 languages spoken by the student body.  Under Green’s leadership, the district has used laser-like focus to increase student achievement, to prepare students for college and career success and to help students become collaborative, creative, and caring critical thinkers and communicators

The Kansas City Public Schools has made unprecedented gains in its Missouri School Improvement Program scores in recent years and has moved from unaccredited to a provisionally accredited district.  By using innovative instruction, engaging programs, highly qualified employees and an involved and well-informed community, students at every level of achievement are showing growth.  They have done this by focusing on individual student achievement, constant feedback on performance, adapting instruction to individual student needs and providing essential wrap-around services for the student body.

Green is currently chairman of the Oak Ridge Youth Development Corporation, a member of the United Way of Greater Kansas City Board of Directors, and a member of the Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity.  He has served on the Kansas City Public Television Board of Directors and the Kauffman Scholar, Inc. Board of Directors.

Green is the twenty-ninth recipient of the prestigious Robert L. Pearce Award.

Other Pearce nominees were:

Kelvin Adams, St. Louis Public, Greater St. Louis
Robert Brinkley, Odessa R-VII, West Central
Steve Bryant, Union R-XI, South Central
Dennis Croy, Gallatin R-V, Northwest
Darin Ford, Centrailia R-VI, Northeast
James Welker, Cape Girardeau, Southeast
Duane Widhalm, Lebanon R-III, Southwest