Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Missouri Association of School Administrators

Awards Information


Ajax Loading Image


2020 MASA "Pearce Award" Nominees

The Robert L. Pearce Award, one of MASA's most prestigious recognitions,  was instituted in 1987 by David and Richard Pearce.  This award’s purpose is to honor their father, Robert L. Pearce, a founding partner of Bonsack & Pearce, Inc., an architectural firm specializing in educational work.  Robert L. Pearce appreciated the importance of education and the vital work of school superintendents. MASA is pleased that Pearce Consultants continue support of this award recognizing the contribution that superintendents make to the young people of the state of Missouri.

The selection of the Pearce Award recipient is made by the MASA Awards Committee from nominations submitted by each MASA District.  The Pearce Award not only includes a plaque and professional recognition, but also a monetary award to the honoree and a like scholarship amount to a student in the honoree’s school district.


The recipients were to be recognized at the 2020 MASA Awards Banquet which was canceled as a precautionary step during the COVID-19 virus pandemic.  We have listed the recipients name, their school district, the MASA District in which they reside, and a brief biography.  





Ken Eaton                        

Mound City R-II School District                                           


Ken Eaton has served as the superintendent of the Mound City R-II School District for the past twenty years.  Eaton previously served Mound City as the junior high/high school principal and athletic director.  Eaton has served on the MASA Executive Committee from 2015 to the present and was president in 2018-2019.


John French                    

Lewis Co C-1 School District                                             


John French has served as the superintendent of the Lewis County C-1 School District from 2014 to the present.

French began his administrative roles in 2005 as the high school principal and transportation director at Stockton R-1 School District. He served as superintendent at Morgan County R-I from 2011 – 2014.  French is the current Northeast MASA District President-Elect.


Kyle Kruse                       

St Clair R-XIII School District                                              

South Central

Kyle Kruse has served as the superintendent of the St. Clair R-XIII School District from 2016 to the present.  Kruse previously served as the superintendent of the New Haven School District from 2004 to 2016, and was the high school principal at Osage Co. R-II from 1997 – 2004.  Kruse has served on the MASA Executive Committee from 2014 to the present.


Keith Marty                       

Parkway School District   

Greater St. Louis

Keith Marty has served the Parkway School District for the past nine years.  From 1989 – 2011, Marty was assistant superintendent, then superintendent of the Menemonee Falls School District in Wisconsin.  Marty was a high school principal and curriculum director for the Sheboygan Falls School District in Wisconsin.  His administrative career began in 1981 as an assistant high school principal in Plymouth School District in Wisconsin.


Scott Patrick                    

Warrensburg R-VI School District                                      

West Central

Scott Patrick has served the Warrensburg R-VI School District for the past eight years.  Prior to the superintendency, Patrick was the assistant superintendent at Warrensburg.  Patrick served as an assistant superintendent for the Sedalia #200 School District from 2002-2006.  Patrick was assistant principal, then principal for Sedalia from 1995-2002.  Patrick was the West Central MASA President in 2015-2016.


Andrew Underwood

Belton School District       

Greater Kansas City

Andrew Underwood has served as the Belton #124 School District superintendent from 2010 to the present.  From 2005 to 2010 he served as superintendent at the Ava School District.  Underwood was a high school principal for the Adrian Schools and prior to that the athletic director and middle school principal for the Fordland School District. Underwood served as the Greater Kansas City MASA President for 2017-2018 and he has been on the AASA Governing Board since 2015.


Chris Wilson

Kennett #39 School District


Chris Wilson has served as superintendent of the Kennett #39 School District from 2010 to the present, in fact, Wilson’s entire administrative career has been at Kennett where he also served as the assistant superintendent (2004-2010); high school principal (2003-2004) and assistant elementary principal (2001-2003).  Wilson was the Southeast MASA District president in 2015-2016 and has been the Southeast District’s representative to the executive committee from 2018 to the present.  Wilson has been on the AASA Governing Board from 2016 to the present.


Chance Wistrom             

Republic R-III School District                                              


Chance Wistrom has served as the Republic School District’s superintendent from 2012 to the present.  He served as the Miller School District superintendent from 2010 – 2012.  Wistrom was a principal for the Springfield School District from 2006-2010.  Wistrom also served an assistant principal, principal, and activities director for the Nevada and Seneca School Districts.  Wistrom served as the Southwest MASA President during the 2017-2018 school year.



Eaton Pearce Life.pdf

French Pearce.pdf

Kruse Pearce.pdf

Marty Pearce.pdf

Patrick Pearce and 25 yr Awards.pdf

Underwood Pearce.pdf

Wistrom Pearce Life.pdf